Special Collections Research Center

Scope and Contents This collection is composed of letters from B.R. Bramlett to his wife and from his wife to B.R Bramlett, written while on active duty with the Marine Corps during the Vietnam War, 1966-1967. He was stationed originally as Military Police in Phu Bai, Vietnam, then as Brig Warden in Da Nang, and finally as a Senior Instructor for the 3rd Battalion Force Logistics Command.   A majority of his correspondence occured while he was Brig Warden. Topics include everyday concerns for his...

Scope and Contents Papers, circa the 1930s and the 1960s-1970s, of the Bristow Family of Middlesex County, Virginia. The collection includes letters written to Joseph Christian Bristow, Jr., while at the University of Richmond and letters written to him while serving in the United States Army during the Vietnam War. The primary correspondent is Kitty Major, of Stormont, Virginia, who seems to be in a relationship with Bristow for most of their correspondence. Topics include Major's daily activities, events...

Scope and Contents This collection consists of approximately fifty letters exchanged by Aron W. Farmer, an American enlisted marine serving with the 3rd Marines, and his fiancée, Vada M. Noch, a student living in Highland, Indiana. The letters cover the years 1959-1961, during which time Farmer was in the Pacific, visiting areas including the Philippines and Japan, and working aboard the U.S.S. Lenawee. The two frequently wrote to each other and the letters describe their day-to-day news and activities. The...

Scope and Contents This collection consists of 70 letters sent by David J. Harrer of the 1st Signal Battalion to his mother, Mrs. Josephine S.Kerr, in Sacremento, California. There is one letter from 1964, possibly sent while Harrer was a Sacramento State College. The majority of the letters were sent beginning in 1969 when Harrer was training at Ft. Lewis in Washington, and continue through his time in the Army, during which he served in Vietnam and traveled extensively around Asia, including Japan, Thailand,...

Scope and Contents Letters written to Shirley Ann Crook of Baltimore, MD. A majority of the letters were written by Sergeant Roger Lee Hicks, two were written by Petty Officer Third Class Don Forgan and one letter was written by Pvt. Max E. Hilb. The dates of the letters range from February 1967 and October 1969 for Don Forgan’s letters, April 1969 for Max Hilb’s letter, and from  December 1969 to May 1970 for Roger Lee Hick’s letters. Roger Lee Hicks wrote to Shirley Ann Crook during his time...

Scope and Contents This collection consists of letters, 1966-1968, written by Stan Skalski to his fiancee Caren Brereton in Philadelphia. The majority of the letters concern Skalski's basic training as a Private First Class for the U.S. Army at Fort Jackson, Georgia and Fort Gordon, Georgia, and later his airborne training at Fort Benning, Georgia and Fort Bragg, North Carolina. Skalski describes various training exercises and his overall acclimation to army life, but also writes at length about personal...

Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a single letter written by Sergeant Hoyt Sparrow of the 1st Battalion of the 61st Infantry Regiment to his wife in Columbia, South Carolina while serving in the Vietnam War. The letter is dated August 6, 1969, and concerns Sparrow's continuing attempts to return to America and his ailing wife, as well as discussion of their children.

Scope and Contents

Collection of letters, October 1968, written to Craig White, a terminally ill patient in the Children's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts by members of the armed forces mostly serving in Vietnam.  Craig White's story was in the Armed Services paper which let people know that he was saving postcards and letters as a hobby while in the hospital.  Many of the letters describe areas in Vietnam where the soldier was stationed and explain their jobs.

Scope and Contents

This collection consists of over 50 letters written by Corporal Anton "Tony" Zeithammel of the 3rd Marine Division while serving in Vietnam. The letters are addressed to his parents in Battle Creek, Michigan, and concern day-to-day military activities and news from home. Most of the original envelopes have been preserved.